Yak and Dove

Reviews

An Amazon “Best Book of the Month”
Top 10 picture books for Fall, CBC

“Odd-couple friendships are nothing new in children’s literature, but seldom is one portrayed with the grace and sly humor Maclear and Shapiro bring to this story…Maclear (The Liszts) divides the story into three chapters, all told in spare but emotionally rich dialogue.”
—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Author Kyo Maclear and illustrator Esmé Shapiro are an unassuming comedic dream team…The two make a dynamite, inventive pair and they infuse the tried-and-true odd-couple premise of Yak and Dove with bursts of irresistibly sweet weirdness…The story is a fresh friendship fable full of genuine kook and authentic feeling.”
—Quill and Quire, starred review

“[A] much-needed favor to humanity in reminding us of what it takes to find, keep and take good care of true friends. . . . I smiled as I read the opening words of Yak and Dove . . . Every page of Esmé Shapiro’s art is suitable for framing.”
—Peter Reynolds, New York Times

“The humor and whimsical nature of the entries are enhanced by the watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil illustrations. In the tradition of “Frog and Toad,” Yak and Dove will find a spot on the shelf amongst animal friendship stories.”
—School Library Journal

“Hold onto your hats, friends. Kyo Maclear and Esmé Shapiro are collaborating on a picture book and it. Is. Fantastic. If you’re a fan of Frog and Toad, then this is definitely the book for you!”
Let’s Talk Picture Books

“The text is entirely delivered in a question-and-answer repartee (individual types for each character) that both moves the story along and maintains the characters’ gender ambiguity.”
—Kirkus

“When talking to your kids about new (or old) friendships, Yak and Dove by Kyo Maclear and Esme Shapiro is an excellent resource. This loving, fun and reflective tale truly gets to the point that despite differences, friendships can blossom. A great read aloud as you continue to build class culture!”
—Heather Lipskie, educator

To pur­chase Yak and Dove by Kyo Maclear, please visit your local inde­pen­dent bookseller.